About Us

Providing Vital Support for Life Science

In 1996, the City of Aurora and University of Colorado worked together to create a special-purpose entity called the Fitzsimons Redevelopment Authority (FRA). The FRA’s single mission: to imagine and govern the evolution of a historic Army Medical Center into one of the world’s most forward-looking bioscience communities. The top community leaders on the FRA board of directors are dedicated to this vision for the Fitzsimons Innovation Community. The FRA now directs the commercial developments in the Fitzsimons Innovation Community.


Lyle is the Site Manager for the Fitzsimons Innovation Community. He has over 22 years of experience in Medical Logistics, Facilities, and Management in the US Amy prior to joining the FIC in 1996. Lyle holds a Bachelor of Science in Industrial Management from the University of Nebraska at Kearney and a Master Degree in Logistics Management from the Florida Institute of Technology.

Lyle is happily married to his wife Sylvia and they have three children and four grandchildren. In his free time, Lyle enjoys skeet and target shooting.

Lyle Artz

Site Manager

Ann (2)

Ann joined the Fitzsimons Innovation Community in September 1999 as the Executive Assistant. Ann has extensive experience in the Customer Service field. Her experience spans a variety of industries including medical & transportation.

Ann has two children and one grandson. She has resided in Denver for over 30 years and has traveled and lived in many places such as Taiwan. Ann loves the outdoor lifestyle and enjoys professional sports. Ann is an avid equestrian and in her free time, she enjoys spending time with her two sons, grandson and her horse Cody.

M. Ann Dennis

Executive Assistant


April recently joined the Fitzsimons Innovation Community as their Vice President of Business Development. Prior to this role, April served as the President & CEO of the Colorado Bioscience Association where she led community partnerships, provided strategic guidance growing the industry in Colorado, and led advocacy on behalf of the industry at both the state and federal levels.

In her free time April enjoys Soccer and skiing when her and her family are not on the soccer fields. April is happily married to her husband Greg and they have two children Ella & Nathan.

April Giles

VP, Business Development


Teresa recently joined the Fitzsimons Innovation Community in November 2018 as the Property Manager. During her career in Real Estate which spans over 20 years, she has led many projects to manage, renovate and rehabilitate Residential Communities. Teresa also holds extensive experience in Commercial Real Estate Management and Modernization in the Real Estate Industry in Colorado.

Teresa has been happily married to her husband Everett for over 20 years. They have 5 children and three grandchildren. In her free time, she enjoys decorating, writing, attending concerts and spending time with family & friends and her Corgi, Bo.

Teresa Grove

Property Manager


Alicia started with Fitzsimons Redevelopment Authority in July 2018. She is an experienced accounting and finance professional with over 20 years of experience in corporate and technical accounting in a variety of industries including hospitality, commercial real estate, software development, restaurant and food distribution. Alicia holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Finance with a minor in Accounting from Regis University.

In her free time Alicia enjoys spending time with family, soccer, camping, fishing and jigsaw puzzles. Alicia is married to her husband Angelo; they have two children Joshua and Joseph, and a chocolate lab, Fozy.

Alicia Madrid

Accounting Manager, Operational Accounting


Thomas serves as the Vice President of Operations & Finance for Fitzsimons Innovation Community. Thomas has over twenty-five years’ experience in finance, accounting, payroll, human resources, shared services and IT. Thomas holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Accounting from the University of Memphis and a Master of Business Arts in finance from Golden Gate University. He is a licensed CPA in Oregon and Tennessee.

In his free time Thomas enjoys playing adult competitive sports including volleyball and soccer. He is an avid outdoorsman and pursues activities including rafting, hiking, alpine mountaineering, hunting and riding his Harley.

Thomas E. Smith Jr.

Vice President of Operations & Finance


Steve serves as President and CEO of the Fitzsimons Innovation Community. He is the Associate Vice-Chancellor of Biotechnology at the University of Colorado/ Anschutz Medical Campus. He started CU Innovations 3 years ago to reinvent the way technology transfer is conducted at a University. Prior to coming to Colorado, Steve was Chair of Mayo Clinic Ventures, the commercialization arm of Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota. Under Steve’s direction, the program resulted in the formation of over 50 companies with a positive return on investment back to Mayo Clinic.

In his free time, Steve enjoys golfing and skiing. He is happily married to his wife Brenda and they have three sons.

Steve VanNurden

President & CEO


Kris is the Building Engineer for the Fitzsimons Innovation Community. He holds a Welder and Inspector license, is a master Diesel Mechanic and has extensive experience with HVAC and General Contracting to name a few. Kris is the buildings go to person who can do anything.

Kris is happily married to his wife Tonya and they have two daughters. In his free time, Kris enjoys fishing, building trucks, riding dirt bikes and enjoying the outdoors with is family.

Kris Yoshida

Building Engineer

Board of Directors

The FRA Board of Directors is made up of leaders in the bioscience industry, University of Colorado and the City of Aurora.


Don Elliman

Chancellor, University of Colorado
Denver Anschutz Medical Campus

Chair Elect

Michael Komppa

President, Corum Real Estate Group


Marsha Berzins

Councilwoman, Aurora City Council

Board Members

First Last

University of Colorado Hospital or Designee

Lilly Marks

Vice President for Health Affairs University of Colorado
Executive Vice Chancellor of the Anschutz Medical Campus

First Last

University of Colorado Hospital or Designee

Shar Matin

Chief Operating Officer, ViewRay, Inc.

Bob LeGare

Mayor, City of Aurora

David Perez

Retired President & CEO, Terumo BCT

James C.T. Linfield

James C.T. Linfield

Daniel L. Ritchie

President, Temple Hoyne Buell Foundation

Have a question? Please reach out to us!